Maryland Department of Natural Resources

MGS Staff Directory

Name Telephone
Richard A. Ortt, Jr., Director (410) 554-5503
Tina Williams, Administrative Officer (410) 554-5511
Public Information, Publications, and Library Services (410) 554-5505
Glen Shinholt, Maintenance Engineer (410) 554-5564
Coastal and Environmental Geology Program
Stephen Van Ryswick, Chief (410) 554-5544
Rebecca H. Kavage Adams, Geologist (410) 554-5553
Dr. David K. Brezinski, Geologist (410) 554-5526
Christopher Connallon, Geologist (410) 554-5541
Anna Gillmor, Geochemist (410) 554-5518
Will Junkin, Geologist (410) 554-5543
Bryan Nicholson, Geologist (410) 554-5545
Dale W. Shelton, Education Specialist/Geologist (410) 554-5505
Hydrogeology and Hydrology Program
Andrew Staley, Acting Chief (410) 260-8818
David C. Andreasen, (Retired Chief, Volunteer) ------
Dr. Emelia Furlong, Hydrogeologist (410) 554-5556
Johanna Gemperline, Hydrogeologist (410) 554-5552
Isabel Glasman, Conservation Associate (443) 743-3011
Heather Quinn, Geologist (410) 554-5522
Thomas Ulizio, Geologist (410) 554-5560
Annapolis (Tawes B-3) Lab Office (410) 260-8816
Support Services
SECURITY OFFICER (410) 554-5508 — —
MGS FAX NUMBER (410) 554-5502 — —
Maryland Geological Survey 2018:
Front Row (left to right): Darlene Wells (retired), Johanna Gemperline, Dave Bolton (retired), Jon Achmad (retired), Isabel Glasman.
2nd Row (left to right): Bryan Nicholson, Rebecca Kavage Adams, Anna Gillmor, David Andreasen (retired), Tiffany VanDerwerker (no longer with the Survey).
3rd Row (left to right): Rich Ortt (Director), Andy Staley, Stephen Van Ryswick, Katie Knippler (no longer with the Survey), Tina Williams.
Back Row (left to right): Chris Connallon, Dale Shelton, Heather Quinn, Jeff Halka (Director Emeritus), Bruce Michael (Director, DNR Resource Assessment Service).
Not pictured: David Brezinski, Emelia Furlong, Will Junkin, Beth Sylvia, Thomas Ulizio, and Glen Shinholt

See an interactive display of MGS staff over the years